This morning, as I was in the middle of a god-awful, ass-kicking Max VO2 workout, the thought crossed my mind that the reason my weight is going up rather than down is because I'm eating too much. Rocket science, right? Maybe, maybe not. It's been my theory for a while that I've been gaining weight either because I've got hormonal issues I'm fighting (the "M" word) or because I'm not eating enough. If one were to read a whole bunch of stuff on the web, specifically Precision Nutrition, you might feel justified in concluding that weight gain is because you aren't eating enough. But what if I'm not really being honest with myself about (or accurate in computing) how much I'm eating? Certainly an interesting thought - especially when I realize I haven't felt "hungry" in quite a while.
So, for the next couple of weeks, I'm going to take a slightly different approach to things. Rather than eating all I can of things that are "compliant", I'm going to try to keep the calories under control. Then we'll see what happens.
But as for ass-kicking, this morning was that and more.
Max VO2 at :45/:15. So snatch Right, swing, then Snatch Left. Basically your basic max VO2 with a swing class embedded in the middle instead of rest. It was a challenge, to say the list. But I got it done and felt pretty good about it. HRM said 30 minutes of average heartrate = 150, peak = 176 and minimum = 135.
Then a swing class where we also did :45/:15. Lots of work. Not much rest. Average heartrate of 130 for about 40 minutes.
Then a 4.5 mile run on the treadmill at Axis.
That, is kicking ass.
Update (5:15pm) - as part of running my errands and getting a (really, really good) massage, I went to Whole Foods to pick up a few things. While there I had some samples of bread and cookies, probably 300 calories or maybe more. It was easy to get that many quickly, without really thinking about it or realizing it. Time to take responsibility for that. There it is, my afternoon snack.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment